Saturday, May 24, 2014

Cannes Awards

Quentin Tarantino gives Uma Thurman a twirl on the red carpet at the Awards ceremony

Adrien Brody and his girlfriend Lara Lieto 

In Competition Cannes Awards

Jury: Jane Campion president, Willem Dafoe, Carole Bouquet, Gael Garcia Bernal, Jeon Do-yeon, Jia Zhangke, Leila Hatami and Nicolas Winding Refn.

Palme D'Or (1st) 
Nuri Bilge Ceylan’s Winter Sleep from Turkey

Grand Prix (2nd) 
Alice Rohrwacher's The Wonders (Le meraviglie) from Italy

Best Director 
Bennett Miller’s Foxcatcher from USA

Jury Prize (3rd) –  tie 
Xavier Dolan’s Mommy from Canada and Jean-Luc Godard’s Goodbye to Language from France

Best Screenplay 
Andrey Zyagintsev and Oleg Negin from Leviathan from Russia

Best Actress 
American actress Julianne Moore from David Cronenberg’s Maps to the Stars from Canada

Best Actor 
British actor Timothy Spall from Mike Leigh’s Mr. Turner

Camera D’Or (First Time Directors) 
Marie Amachoukeli-Barsacq, Claire Burger, and Samuel Theis Party Girl from France

Best Short Film 
Simón Mesa Soto’s Leidi from Colombia

Un Certain Regard

Jury: Pablo Trapero president, Peter Becker, Maria Bonnevie, Géraldine Pailhas and Moussa Touré .

Prize of Un Certain Regard  
Fehér Isten (White God) by Kornél Mundruczó

Jury Prize
Tourist by Ruben Östlund

Un Certain Regard Special Prize  
The Salt of the Earth by Wim Wenders and Juliano Ribeiro Salgado

Ensemble Prize
Party Girl by Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Theis

Prize of the Best Actor
David Gulpill in Charlie’s Country by Rolf de Heer 

Semaine de la Critique  (Critic’s Week) 

Jury:  Andrea Arnold president, Daniela Michele, Fernando Ganzo, Jordan Mintzer, Jonathan Romney 

Grand Prix Nespresso 
The Tribe by Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy

The Revelation Prize  
The Tribe by Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy

SACD Prize  
Hope by Boris Lojkine

Discovery Prize for a Short Film  
A Ciambra by Jonas Carpignano

Prix Canal for a Short Film 
Crocodile by Gaëlle Denis

Distribution Grant from Foundation Gan  
The Tribe by Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy

Director’s Fortnight Prizes

Art Cinema Award 
Les Combattants  (Thomas Cailley, France)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize 
Les Combattants

Europa Cinemas Label 
Les Combattants

Fipresci Prizes

Winter Sleep (Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Turkey-Germany-France)

Un Certain Regard 
Jauja (Lisandro Alonso, Denmark-U.S.-Argentina)

Directors’ Fortnight 
Les Combattants

Ecumenical Jury Prizes

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury 
Timbuktu by Abderrahmane Sissako

Special Mention 
The Salt of the Earth by Wim Wenders   
Beautiful Youth by Jaime Rosales

No comments:

Post a Comment